top of page

What The Heck Are Chakras Anyway?

chakras and endocrine organs associated with them
Chakra diagram and energy flow

Chakras are energy centers in the human body running from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

chakra colors
chakra diagram with colors


The diagram shows how the chakras might appear if we could see them.


As we know, the entire body is made of energy. Each chakra is a spinning vortex that both receives and radiates energy. Chakras are part of the system regulating your bodily functions. 

Each chakra/energy center is connected to a gland in the endocrine system. The endocrine system is like the "messenger system" of the body's activities including metabolism, supply of energy, reproduction, growth, immunity, mood and more.

hormone organs associated with chakras
Chakras with endocrine system

Much of the endocrine system regulation can be related to our emotions, activities or thoughts. Fear, or even thoughts of fear, can trigger the adrenal hormones. What we eat, how we feel and our physical activities directly effect one or more of your endocrine glands. The same is true for the chakras.


Disturbances or blockages in the chakras are related to a wide array of mental, emotional and spiritual issues. By clearing and spinning our chakras properly, we can also help influence our mind, emotions and physical body in a positive way.


Each chakra resonates at its own vibrational frequency, and can be cleared and balanced with sound and energy through a process known as entrainment. Entrainment occurs when the human body syncs up to the consistent, smooth sound waves emanating from a sound source being played. This allows the body to enter a state of coherence thereby clearing the physical/emotional issues within the body.

The 7 Main Chakras, Their Frequency & Attributes

  1. Root- base of spine, 396Hz. Attributes: grounding, stability, and physical energy. When it is out of harmony there is an inability to trust nature, feeling disconnected, insecure when it comes to basic needs being met (food, shelter, clothing, love). When it is in harmony, we feel profoundly connected to nature, grounded, able to move with the flow of life and to relate to family in healthier ways.  

  2. Sacral- sacral area, 417 Hz. Attributes: creativity, sexuality, and emotional well-being. When it is out of harmony it is difficult to process emotions, hold unprocessed anger, stifled creativity, relationship issues, issues with money and abundance, feeling unstable or unhealthy around aspects of sexuality. When balanced, we are able to express ourselves creatively, be more at peace with our abundance, cultivating a healthy relationship with money.  

  3. Solar Plexus- belly area, 528Hz. Attributes: power, confidence, and self-esteem. When out of harmony, there is a need to dominate and control, keep up appearances, deep feelings of inadequacy, lack of self- respect. When balanced, we feel centered in who we are, are connected to our inner warrior, feel balance between spiritual and material worlds, develop tolerance and acceptance, and feel inner peace and calm.  

  4. Heart- center of chest, 639 Hz. Attributes: love, compassion, and emotional healing. When out of harmony, we feel out of touch with ourselves, will have difficulty loving ourselves or giving love from a genuine place, do not feel deserving of love, and may develop depression from lack of connection to self. It is the chakra that connects us to our higher selves. When balanced, we can cultivate joy easily and feel connected to ourselves, we can give and receive love easily and have compassion for ourselves and others.  

  5. Throat- base of neck, 741Hz. Attributes: communication, self-expression, and creativity. When out of harmony, we have difficulties expressing our truth, feel silenced/judged for what we say. When balanced, we are able to follow our dreams, have a strong will to live, express ourselves genuinely, easily, and authentically.   

  6. Third Eye- center of brow, 852Hz. Attributes: intuition, insight, and spiritual awareness. When out of harmony, we stress, and reject spiritual aspects of ourselves, and feel out of touch with our intuition. When balanced, we are connected to our inner vision and can strengthen our intuition.  

  7. Crown Chakra- top of head, 963Hz. Attributes: spiritual connection, higher consciousness, and enlightenment. When out of harmony, feel totally disconnected from our divine source, feel depressed, alone, unsatisfied with life, and are unable to let go of anxiety and fear. When balanced, we live with the feeling/knowing of unity, that we are all connected. We are also more easily able to elevate our consciousness.  

Chakra imbalances are also tied to physical illnesses, so it is important not to neglect this part of ourselves. I could go on for hours about chakras and I will soon! I have a blog post with more and also class coming up in the near future.


There are many ways to tune chakras using sound, one easy way that doesn’t require anything additional is through your voice. I have included a link to a tutorial below:

I am also happy to help clear and balance your chakras in private sessions. Feel free to contact me.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page